Tobago Quays

Today we moved round the corner, into Tobago Quays where we anchored the ship close under the shore and just next to the Royal Clipper.
This is one of those truly picture perfect locations which the Caribbean seems to have in abundance. Turquoise waters, small islands a “lovely” hike up the hill…
When we got ashore, we hiked up the hill on the main island to see the view, negotiating steep paths, hot rocks and very slippery flip flops and the ever present cacti, disguising themselves as trees for the unsupecting climber to grab hold of! Once at the top we had a gorgeous view of Tobago Quays itself and we somewhat forced a path through the top to the other side of the hill to see if we could get a glimpse of the ship.

image

Once down we went for a snorkel off the beach swapping the snorkels about, and checking out the reef just off shore. It was so close that if you were not careful when snorkelling out you could hit a knee on it!  This reef was teeming with fish, small black and white stripy ones to amazing deep blue or pale turquoise/green depending on what way you were looking at them. After snorkeling for about 30 mins Edward went back to the shore and I carried on by myself, swimming off towards the headland end of the beach, on my way there I saw a lobster trap with some massive live lobsters in it and some coral fans. On the way back, just off the beach I swam over a ray, I nearly missed it focusing on where I was going and listening out for the cruiseship rib tenders engine noises. Once I spotted it I turned and followed it for a few meters until its vastly superior hydrodynamics meant that it got away from me.
It was a really majestic sight skimming along near the bottom with seemingly very little effort. I am just gutted at not having an underwater camera to try and capture the moment, although it did mean I was able to just enjoy the moment and didnt get distracted by too much technology…

image

wpid-Tobago-Quays-III.jpg

wpid-TQ-PAN.jpg

One thought on “Tobago Quays

  1. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking
    back frequently!

Leave a Reply

